

January 9, 2013 Caucus - Minutes

Town of Garfield Caucus Wednesday, January 9, 2013 Garfield Town Hall 5:30 p.m.

The 2013 Caucus was called to order by Chairman Steve Dickinsen at 5:30 p.m. Full board present. Meeting notice verified. Others in attendance included Don Brasda, Lori Walker, Clark Walker, Nicole Smith, \_\_\_\_\_ Smith, Diane Larson, Ron Larson, Tom Johnson, Dave Glavin, Alice Glavin, Gary Severson, Dave Gran, and Glenn Fremstad. He then called for nominations for Chairman of the Caucus, and Dave Gran made a motion to appoint Lori Prudlick as chair of the Caucus. Gary Severson seconded and motion was carried. Don Brasda made a motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Lori Prudlick to act as chairwoman. Motion was seconded and carried.

Prudlick called for nominations for town chairman. Alice Glavin nominated Steve Dickinsen, and Dave Gran seconded the nomination. No other nominations were made. Motion by Gary Severson to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Steve Dickinsen for Chairman. Motion seconded and carried.

Prudlick then called for nominations for First Supervisor. Steve Dickinsen nominated Lamoine Hanson, Gary Severson seconded the nomination. With no other nominations, Steve Dickinsen made a motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Lamoine Hanson for First Supervisor. Dave Gran seconded and motion was carried.

Prudlick called for nominations for Second Supervisor. Dickinsen announced that present Second Supervisor Robert Rindahl has indicated he will not seek another term. Gary Severson nominated Dave Gran, Alice Glavin seconded the nomination. Derrick Christianson made a motion to nominate Ron Larson, and Nicole Smith seconded the nomination. Clark Walker nominated Glenn Fremstad, and Lisa Walker seconded the nomination. Motion was made by Steve Dickinsen to close nominations. Motion seconded and carried. Three people were nominated, so according to Caucus rules, paper ballots were passed out and a vote was taken to determine the top two vote getters. Alice Glavin and Gary Severson were appointed to pass out and count the ballots. Dave Gran received 9 votes and there was a tie at 4 votes for Glenn Fremstad and Ron Larson, with one vote abstaining.

Prudlick called for a second vote to break the tie. Following the balloting, the count between Larson and Fremstad remained at a tie with 9 votes each. Following discussion, the group's consensus was to call for one more vote to see if the tie could be broken. Motion by Steve Dickinsen and seconded by Lamoine Hanson, to call for another tie-breaking vote. Motion carried. The ballot count on this vote was Fremstad 9 and Larson 8 with one vote abstaining. Based on this, Dave Gran and Glenn Fremstad will be on the ballot for the position of Second Supervisor.

Prudlick then called for nominations for Clerk. Alice Glavin nominated Ardy Robertson, Dave Gran seconded the nomination. Steve Dickinsen made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Ardy Robertson for Clerk. Glenn Fremstad seconded, and motion carried.

Dickinsen then announced that the present Treasurer Lori Prudlick has indicated she will not be running for another term. Prudlick called for nominations for Treasurer. Glenn Fremstad nominated Clark Walker, and Steve Dickinsen seconded the nomination. Lamoine Hanson made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Clark Walker for Treasurer. Steve Dickinsen seconded, and motion carried.

Steve Dickinsen made a motion to adjourn the Caucus, and Gary Severson seconded. Motion carried. Caucus adjourned.

Note: Following the Caucus, a framed Certificate of Appreciation was presented to Lori Prudlick for her years of service as treasurer, since she will not be seeking another term. Earlier in the week, at the township Christmas party, a plaque was presented to Second Supervisor Bob Rindahl for his service to the board.